You are here ABOUT LSK


The Law Society of Kenya (LSK) is Kenya’s premier bar association, with membership of all practicing advocates, currently numbering in excess of the ten thousand.

It has the mandate to advise and assist members of the legal profession, the government and the larger public in all matters relating to the administration of justice in Kenya.

The Society was established by an Act of Parliament – The Law Society of Kenya Act (Chapter 18 of the Laws of Kenya). The Law Society in its present form was formed in 1948 by section 3 of the Law Society of Kenya Ordinance, 1949. That Act was later repealed by the current Law Society of Kenya Act, which came into force on 30th October, 1992.
Former Chairmen of the Law Society of Kenya

The Law Society of Kenya would like to recognise and extend its appreciation to all its former chairmen, who dedicated their time and commitment to building the Society into the dynamic organisation it is today.



 Humphrey Slade


 N.S. MangatQ.C.


 L. Kaplan


 J. Sorabjee, Q.C.


 C.F. Schermburucker


 J.M. Nzareth, Q.C.


 Ivor Lean, Q.C.


 Justice Madan , Q.C.


 J.A. Mackie-Robertson, Q.C.


 Justice Chanan Singh


 J.O. O’Brien Kelly


 Justice Madan


 A.E. Hunter


 Satish Gautama


 Justice Harris


 B.T. Modi


 S.M.C. Thomson


 G.S. Sandhu


 K.B. Keith


 E.P. Nowrojee


 P. Le Pelley


 S.N. Waruhiu


 M.Z.A. Malik


 J.A. Couldrey


 Ramnik Shah


 S. Sangale


 P.J. Ransley


 K.C. Gautama


 S. Amos Wako


 Lee Muthoga


 Mutula Kilonzo


 G.B.M. Kariuki


 Joe Okwach


 Fred Ojiambo


 Paul Muite


 F.W. Kagwe (Ag)


 Willy Mutunga


 Paul Wamae


 Nzamba Kitonga


 Gibson Kamau Kuria


 Raychelle Omamo


 Ahmednasir M Abdullahi


 Tom Adhiambo Ojienda


 Okong'o Omogeni


 Kenneth W. Akide


   Eric Kyalo Mutua
 Isaac Edwin Okero