You are here Our Organisational Structure


Council Profile

The Council is the governing body of the Law Society of Kenya.  It comprises a Chairman, A Vice-Chairman and ten other members, all of whom must be members of the Law Society of Kenya.  Council members are elected bi-annually by the members of the Society by means of a postal ballot conducted in accordance with the Law Society of Kenya Act.  By law, at least one of the members of the Council must be a member of the Society who ordinarily practices in Mombasa.  Further, at least two of the members of the Council must be members who do not ordinarily practice in Nairobi or Mombasa. (Read More)

Committees Profile

Consistent with its broad statutory mandate, the Law Society of Kenya has numerous specialized committees.  These are tasked with fulfilling particular facets of Law Society of Kenya’s objective of fostering the administration of law and justice in Kenya. (Read More)


The Secretariat

The day-to-day operations and administration of the society are undertaken by the Secretariat, which is comprised of the Secretary (CEO), Programme Directors, Accountants and Support Staff. The Secretariat serves as a meeting and mobilisation point for lawyers and through it, social welfare activities are coordinated. Its offices are located in Lavington, Nairobi, along Gitanga Road.