Law Society of Kenya



TO ALL MEMBERS OF THE LAW SOCIETY OF KENYA

Lavington, opp Valley Arcade, Gitanga Road P.O Box 72219-00200 Nairobi, Kenya Dropping Zone -149 Embassy House Basement Tel: +254 111 045 300 Website: www.lsk.or.ke

Our Ref: E/24

Email: lsk@lsk.or.ke

Your Ref: TBA

Date: 5th December 2023

NOTICE FOR NOMINATION OF CANDIDATES FOR ELECTIONS FOR THE POSITION OF THE MEMBER OF THE ADVOCATES DISCIPLINARY TRIBUNAL (TERM OF THREE YEARS WITH EFFECT FROM 25TH MARCH 2024)

The terms of two (2) members of the Advocates Disciplinary Tribunal namely: Mr. George Ochich and Mr. Gathii Irungu expired on the 24th March 2023 while Hon. Justice. John Chigiti, SC was appointed as a Judge of the High Court of Kenya in 2022. Pursuant to Section 57 (1)(C) of the Advocates Act, the Advocates Disciplinary Tribunal shall comprise of among others six advocates (other than the Chairman, Vice-chairman or Secretary of the Society), of not less than ten years standing, one of whom shall be an advocate who does not ordinarily practise in Nairobi, all of whom shall be elected and shall hold office for three years and be eligible for re-election.

Regulation 87(7) of the Law Society of Kenya (General) Regulations, 2020 provides that where the election of a representative of the Society to the Judicial Service Commission or to the **Disciplinary Tribunal** is required within a period not exceeding three months after the date scheduled for election of the Council, such election may be done in advance at the same time as the election of the Council.

This is therefore a notice calling for nomination of candidates for election for the position of the Advocates Disciplinary Tribunal for a term of three years with effect from 25th March 2024.

Eligibility for Election:

- Must be an advocate of the High Court of Kenya of not less than **ten** (10) years standing.
- Each candidate must be nominated by two (2) nominators who are members of the Society with current practicing certificates.

Chrysostom Akhaabi, Kabata Mwaura, Tom K'opere (General Membership Representatives)
Cohen Amanya, Njoki Mboce, Ochieng Gor (Nairobi Representatives)
Byron Menezes, Lindah Kiome, Michael Wabwile, Vincent Githaiga (Upcountry Representatives)
Riziki Emukule (Coast Representative)

- Not been convicted of any act of professional misconduct before the Advocates Disciplinary Tribunal.
- Every nomination paper must be signed by both nominators and refer to one (1) candidate only, whose consent must be given in writing.

The nomination paper can be accessed through the link: Nomination Paper- Disciplinary Tribunal 2024.

Advocates interested in the position should express their interest by submitting the following:

- Nomination Paper
- A duly signed Law Society of Kenya Candidates' Declaration of Compliance Form in the Schedule to the LSK Electoral Code of Conduct (Revised) 2019, LSK Code of Elections (Revised 2019) together with the nomination papers as attached above
- Detailed Biography of not more than 100 words
- Two Passport Photographs.

Completed nomination papers accompanied by a duly signed Law Society of Kenya Candidates' Declaration of Compliance Form; addressed to the The Secretary/CEO of the Law Society of Kenya shall be submitted by the nominated candidate personally or by an agent in line with Regulation 31 (1) of the LSK (General) Regulations, 2020 not later than 12th January, 2024 at 5.00pm to:

Secretary/CEO
Law Society of Kenya, Gitanga Road
NAIROBI.

FLORENCE W. MUTURI SECRETARY/CEO