

TO ALL MEMBERS OF THE LAW SOCIETY OF KENYA Lavington, opp Valley Arcade, Gitanga Road P.O Box 72219-00200 Nairobi, Kenya Dropping Zone -149 Embassy House Basement Tel: +254 111 045 300 Website: www.lsk.or.ke Email: lsk@lsk.or.ke

Our Ref: E/24

Your Ref: TBA

Date: 5th December 2023

NOMINATION FOR ELECTIONS TO THE POSITION OF THE LSK MALE REPRESENTATIVE TO THE JUDICIAL SERVICE COMMISSION (JSC) FOR A TERM OF FIVE YEARS WITH EFFECT FROM 13TH MAY 2024

The term of the current Law Society of Kenya Male Representative to the Judicial Service Commission, Mr. Macharia Njeru shall expire on the 12th May 2024. Pursuant to Article 171(4), members of the Commission, apart from the Chief Justice and the Attorney-General, shall hold office, provided that they remain qualified, for a term of five years and shall be eligible to be nominated for one further term of five years.

Regulation 87(7) of the Law Society of Kenya (General) Regulations, 2020 provides that where the election of a representative of the Society to the **Judicial Service Commission** or to the Disciplinary Tribunal is required within a period not exceeding three months after the date scheduled for election of the Council, such election may be done in advance at the same time as the election of the Council.

This is therefore a notice calling for nomination of candidates for election for the position of the Law Society of Kenya Male Representative to the Judicial Service Commission for a term of five years with effect from 13th May 2024.

1. Eligibility for election:

a. Must be **a male** member of the Law Society of Kenya in good standing with **at least fifteen (15) years' experience as an advocate;** high moral character, integrity and impartiality with the following attributes:

- no record of criminal conviction by a Court of Law,
- not declared bankrupt by a Court of Law,
- Not been convicted of any act of professional misconduct before the Advocates Disciplinary Committee,

Eric Theuri (President), Faith Odhiambo (Vice-President) Chrysostom Akhaabi, Kabata Mwaura, Tom K'opere (General Membership Representatives) Cohen Amanya, Njoki Mboce, Ochieng Gor (Nairobi Representatives) Byron Menezes, Lindah Kiome, Michael Wabwile, Vincent Githaiga (Upcountry Representatives) Riziki Emukule (Coast Representative) • meets the requirements of Chapter Six (6) of the Constitution.

b. Advocates interested in the position should express their interest by submitting the following:

• Nomination Paper signed by both nominators and referring to one candidate only, whose consent must be given in writing can be accessed on <u>Nomination Paper – JSC (Male Rep)</u>;

• A detailed Biography of not 100 words;

• A duly signed Law Society of Kenya Candidates' Declaration of Compliance Form in the Schedule to the *LSK Electoral Code of Conduct (Revised) 2019*, which can be accessed on LSK Code of Elections (Revised 2019) and

• Two Passport Photographs.

Completed nomination papers accompanied by a duly signed Law Society of Kenya Candidates' Declaration of Compliance Form; addressed to the The Secretary/CEO of the Law Society of Kenya shall be submitted by the nominated candidate personally or by an agent in line with Regulation 31 (1) of the LSK (General) Regulations, 2020 <u>not later than 12th January, 2024 at 5.00pm to:</u>

> Secretary/CEO Law Society of Kenya, Gitanga Road <u>NAIROBI.</u>

FLORENCE W. MUTURI SECRETARY/CEO