Continuous Professional Development

The Law Society of Kenya Committee on Continuous Professional Development (CPD) provides policy direction to the program and meets monthly to discuss ant pertinent issues surrounding the CPD program. The Committee also accredits other institutions, that facilitate sessions on professional development for lawyers.

The CPD Committee is mandated to work with the LSK Secretariat in the implementation of the CPD Calendar of Events, development of the curriculum and content of the program. The CPD Committee constantly reviews and develops the program and envisions a program that provides legal knowledge to all advocates practicing in different areas of law at an affordable rate and in an efficient manner.

Under the Committee's guidance, the Continuous Professional Development Program has become, in recent years, an integral aspect of legal practice in Kenya. It is one of the most vibrant program of the Law Society of Kenya. This is in line with its vision of structuring the on going training of advocates on the latest developments in the Law and acting as forum for discussion of proposed legislation.

The Committee has two sub-committees:

  • Education Committee: This Committee deals with accreditation matters of Advocates.
  • Finance Committee: This Committee deals with the budgetary issues of the Continuing Legal Education Program.

The Committee on Continuing Professional Development

The members of the Continuous Professional Development Committee are as follows:

  • Henry Ongicho - Convener
  • Rautta Athiambo - Co-Convener
  • Eric Theuri - Council members
  • Ben Mosota - Council members
  • James Mangerere
  • Ambrose Weda
  • Benjamin Musau
  • John Oscar Juma
  • Julius Onyango
  • Kennedy Modi,
  • Ndegwa Kabaru
  • Josephine Mongare
  • Dennis Magare
  • Goretti Nyariki
  • Khaseke Makadia Georgiadis
  • Harriett Chiggai
  • Dorcas Shikuku Kitaa
  • Moses Esikuri
  • Martin Oloo Opondo
  • Dr. Linda Musumba
  • Henry Ongicho
  • Julius Kitheka
  • Amrit Soar
  • Aggrey Shitsama
  • Michael Muchemi
  • Faith Waigwa
  • Eric Theuri
  • Rautta Athiambo
  • Ben Mosota
  • P. K. Kamau